Taubman College

Awards / Undergraduate Awards

2009 Undergraduate Award Recipients

Wallenberg Studio Awards

First Prize

Marc Maxey, $15,000

Second Prize

Alex Timmer, $10,000

Third Prize

Rick Cosgrove, $5,000

Honorable Mentions

Marie Matta
Jakub Szerszen
Lauren Gregoricka
Brooke Goodman
Eva Lynch

Burton L. Kampner Memorial Award

Marie Matta

Architecture Program Distinction

Amanda Winn
Stephanie Fitton
Eric Crabb

2009 Wallenberg Symposium & Award Ceremony

Backstages, Sideshows & Undergrounds

Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning hosted its Wallenberg studio symposium and award ceremony on April 29, 2009, where the college seniors presented final projects from the Raoul Wallenberg Studios. The studio reviews were coordinated by Assistant Professor of Architecture Mireille Roddier.

The themes of the award-winning studio work, as selected by the guest judges on April 23 and 24, were discussed at the April 29th symposium by the guest jurors, including Joan Ockman, Columbia University; Grace La, University of Wisconsin; Robert Levit, University of Toronto; Mitchell Squire, Iowa State; and Brendan Moran, University of Syracuse. The Wallenberg Travel Scholarship was awarded, recognizing student work that illustrated an exceptional understanding of architecture and the humanities. The evening symposium and judging process was moderated by Casey Jones, principal at Bloomfield Hills, Mich.-based architecture firm Jones/Kroloff.

Wallenberg Studios Poster (PDF 420KB)