Taubman College

College Events / Special Events

Future of Design

University of Michigan's Taubman College hosted the Future of Design conference, Oct. 9 & 10, 2009. Designers, critics and provocative thinkers brainstormed how design is evolving across various disciplines including architecture, landscape architecture, interactive, industrial, and interior design. The presentations were free and open to the public. The speakers presented their views in 15-minute segments and are available on YouTube: www.youtube.com/umtaubmancollege.

View photos from the event »

Friday night after the first day of presentations a dinner with round-table discussions was held with the presenters, faculty and students. The discussions were formatted after the 1920s Algonquin Round Tables where writers, critics actors and humorists met daily for ten years at the Algonquin Hotel in New York City. The conversations were disseminated through newspaper columns across the country and engendered collaborations among the participants and influenced the direction of writing, journalism and criticism in America. The dinner conversations were video recorded and fragments from the conversations will also be available on YouTube. Special thanks to YouTube for allowing us to exceed their 10-minute video posting limit so we can make every presentation available on their site.

The conference format originated after Dean Monica Ponce de Leon attended a series of closed-door and highly informative design conversations as part of the 2009 Smithsonian's Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards jury; at an event at Columbia University's Temple Hoyne Buell Center for the Study of American Architecture; and during conversations at the Philip Johnson Glass House. The Future of Design conference format was initiated to provide more access to intensive design conversation and thought. The pervasive sharing of the conference content is a response to the lack of insightful design conversation that is available and occurring in public discourse and spaces.


Future of Design Presentations: Day 1







Future of Design Presentations: Day 2





Future of Design Presenters

Stan Allen
Dean, Princeton University School of Architecture
Principal, Stan Allen Architect

Ila Berman, DDes
Director of Architecture, California College of the Arts
Principal, Studio Matrixx

Laurene Leon Boym
Principal, Boym Partners

Will Bruder
President, Will Bruder + Partners

Tom Buresh
Professor and Chair of Architecture, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Michigan
Principal, Guthrie + Buresh

Stephen Burks
Design Director, Readymade Projects

Shane Coen
Principal, Coen + Partners

Preston Scott Cohen
Professor and Chair of Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design
Principal, Preston Scott Cohen, Inc.

Maurice Cox
Director of Design, National Endowment for the Arts
Associate Professor, University of Virginia School of Architecture

Ned Cramer
Editor in Chief, Architect Magazine

Nicola Delon
Director, Encore Heureux

Timur Galen
Managing Director, Goldman Sachs

Jeanne Gang
Principal, Studio Gang Architects
Adjunct Professor, College of Architecture, Illinois Institute of Technology

Casey Jones
Director of Design Excellence and the Arts, U.S. General Services Administration

Greg Lynn
Principal, Greg Lynn FORM
Professor, UCLA Architecture & Urban Design

John McMorrough, PhD
Architecture Section Head, Ohio State University
Principal, studioAPT

Sigi Moeslinger
Partner, Antenna Design New York Inc.
Critic in Graphic Design, Yale University School of Art

Gregg Pasquarelli
Principal, SHoP Architects and SHoP Construction

Chee Pearlmen
Editor, Curator, President of Chee Company, New York

Bryan Rogers, PhD
Dean and Professor, University of Michigan School of Art & Design

Joseph Rosa
John H. Bryan Curatorial Chair of Architecture and Design, Art Institute of Chicago
Adjunct Professor, School of Architecture, University of Illinois at Chicago

Hilary Sample
Principal, MOS
Assistant Professor, Yale School of Architecture

Gary Smith
Director of Design Facilitation, Herman Miller, Inc.

Michael Speaks, PhD
Dean, University of Kentucky College of Design

Margaret Gould Stewart
User Experience Manager, YouTube

Susan Szenasy
Editor in Chief, Metropolis

Marc Tsurumaki
Partner, Lewis.Tsurumaki.Lewis (LTL Architects)
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Columbia University

Sarah Whiting, PhD
Principal, WW Architecture
Assistant Professor, Princeton University School of Architecture
Dean-elect, Rice School of Architecture

Adam Yarinsky
Partner, Architecture Research Office (ARO)

Meejin Yoon
Principal, MY Studio / Höweler + Yoon Architecture
Associate Professor of Architectural Design, MIT School of Architecture and Planning

Future of Design, October 9-10, 2009