Taubman College

Faculty Directory

Teaching Areas:

  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Negotiation and Dispute Resolution

Fernando Caetano is a Lecturer in Negotiation and Conflict Resolution at Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning at the University of Michigan. He is a full time Conflict Resolution Professional for the University of Michigan Health System, where he mediates disputes for faculty and staff and teaches several modules and workshops for staff development and leadership development. He is also an Arbitrator for the American Arbitration Association, and he has mediated disputes for circuit courts and community mediation centers in the state of Michigan. He is a member of the International Ombudsman Association and the Association for Conflict Resolution.

Prior to joining the University of Michigan, Fernando received his Law Degree from Pontificia Universidade Catolica de Campinas, and he holds a specialization degree in Economic Law from the Universidade Estadual de Campinas. He practiced law in Brazil from 1992 until 1999, primarily in the fields of Labor Law and Family Law. He has worked with unions, government institutions and corporations in Brazil. In 1999 he moved to the United States, where he received a Master of Laws degree (LL.M) in Corporate and Finance Law from Wayne State University Law School, in Detroit, MI. In addition to his LL.M, he received training in mediation from the Institute of Continuing Legal Education (ICLE) at the University of Michigan, and arbitration from both the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service and the American Arbitration Association. After he finished his studies, he became a Mediator for the University of Michigan, in 2002. In 2004, he started working at the University of Michigan Health System (UMHS), performing a wide array of conflict resolution and educational services for faculty and staff. In 2006 he started teaching Negotiation and Conflict Resolution (URP 614) at the Taubman College of Urban Planning.

As a side hobby closely related to managing tensions and creating harmony and paths to resolution, Fernando plays and writes music, mostly jazz-oriented, and his main instrument is the guitar.

Sort by Concentration:

Faculty Full-Time in the Urban and Regional Planning Program

David Bieri Harley Etienne Jonathan Levine
Scott Campbell Robert Goodspeed Richard Norton
Lan Deng Joe Grengs Ana Paula Pimentel Walker
Margaret Dewar Lesli Hoey June Manning Thomas
Eric Dueweke Larissa Larsen  

Faculty Part-Time in the Urban and Regional Planning Program

María Arquero de Alarcón Kimberley Kinder Monica Ponce de Leon
Robert Fishman Lucas Owen Kirkpatrick David Thacher
Douglas Kelbaugh Martin Murray  

Lecturers Part-Time in the Urban and Regional Planning Program

Peter Allen Paul Fontaine Julie Steiff
Philip D'Anieri Jeffrey Kahan  

Affiliated Faculty

Barry N. Checkoway Lidia Kostyniuk Matthew Lassiter

Faculty: Do you need to update your photo, CV, or bio? Email the website contact listed below with the updates required.

List of Urban Planning faculty by area of concentration (PDF 196KB)