Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2011 Wallenberg Competition and Award Symposium

April 28, 2011 at 3:00 pm

The 2011 Wallenberg studios explored the theme of “Resilience.” Resilience is a positive word, suggesting an empowered ability to not just hold up, but to react and comeback. It is a word that exudes strength and that inspires confidence. The topic demands a positivist attitude, not a naivet√© or just a hope for a better time, but a confidence and strength of not just dealing with or fixing a condition, but invigorating, strengthening it and transforming it into something new. While architectural strategies often allow for changes over time, the nature of architectural resilience is up for careful consideration, particularly where long-held assumptions are giving way to uncertain futures. Resilience advances the agency of architecture to assert urban and spatial form that has multiple outcomes. The 2011 Wallenberg Studios were coordinated by Assistant Professor Steven Mankouche.

Wallenberg Award Winners

$6,000 Honor Awards:

  • Simon Rolka, Newell Studio
  • Grant Weaver, Newell Studio
  • Ian Sinclair, Mankouche Studio

$1,500 Honorable Mention:

  • Jacqueline Kow, Moran Studio
  • Timothy Harmon, Shieh Studio

Wallenberg Competition Finalists

Meredith Miller’s Studio: Michael Bosbous, Nora Leon, Brittany Roy Rosalyne Shieh’s Studio: Timothy Harmon, Angela Schmidt, J.J. Yoo Catie Newell’s Studio:Sophia Zhou, Simon Rolka, Grant Weaver Nahyun Hwang’s Studio: Alex Carmichael, Patrick Ethen, Michael Herrick Steven Mankouche’s Studio: Kevin Swanson, Edward Burkhead, Ian Sinclair Mick Kennedy’s Studio: Kevin Jacot, Tyler Solu, Alissa Hahn Thom Moran’s Studio: Jackie Kow, Jon Swendris, Matthew Acton Irene Hwang’s Studio: Ben Sutton, Kelsey Jensen, Marsie Klug Jesse LeCavalier’s Studio: Jordan Buckner, Julie Chau, Toon Kantharoup

Competition Jurors:
Kent Kleinman, Cornell University College of Architecture, Art and Planning Gale and Ira Drukier Dean

Chip Lord, Professors Emeritus, UCSC, Founding Partner, Ant Farm

Marsha Miro (B.A. ’67), Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit (MOCAD) Founding Director

Final Review Critics:
Gaby Brainard, SHoP construction
Landon Brown, Vision Arc
Stephanie Choi, Front Inc
Scott Ruff, Associate Professor, Tulane University
Richard Yoo, Woodbury / SCI-Arc
John Zissovici, Associate Professor, Cornell University

About the Wallenberg Studios:
Inspired by the heroic acts of Raoul Wallenberg and with a desire to carefully consider the interrelated nature of the constructed environment and social, cultural, economic, and environmental issues, the nine 2011 Wallenberg studios explored the theme of “Resilience.” Over the course of the semester, three guest speakers gave lectures addressing how their own work interconnects with the shared theme. The Raoul Wallenberg Scholarship Endowment was established with a generous gift from the Benard L. Maas Foundation in 1986 that has been augmented by contributions from alumni. During the last semester of the undergraduate sequence, all seniors at Taubman College participate in the Wallenberg Studio. Throughout this semester-long competition, the students are challenged to develop proposals that define architecture as a humane social art and translate their ideas into a physical project. The studio culminates in a final exhibit review by outside critics who award travel scholarships for the best conceived and executed efforts.


April 28, 2011
3:00 pm