Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Future of Technology

September 25, 2010 at 10:00 am

Future of Technology

Future of Technology is the 3rd conference in series of events (previous conferences being Future of Design, Fall 2009 and Future of Urbanism, Winter 2010) that bring together international experts to provide insight and debate on initiatives past, present and future. 

The Future of Technology Conference at University of Michigan’s Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, September 24-25, featured critics, practitioners and academics presenting how technology empowers, inspires and adapts. The presentations and hosted conversations by the international roster of speakers were free and open to the public.

Four conversations with the speakers were hosted throughout the conference:

For transportation and parking details, visit: pts.umich.edu/.
*The closest parking structure: Fletcher Structure

Past conference presentations and conversations can found on the Taubman College YouTube channel.

The other conferences include:

* Future of Design Fall 2009
* Future of Urbanism Winter 2010
* Future of History Winter 2011

Future of Technology Speakers

Welcome and opening remarks by Dean Monica Ponce de Leon. Conference moderators include Taubman College architecture and urban planning faculty Karl DaubmannJoe GrengsSteven MankoucheJohn MarshallMalcolm McCulloughKathy VelikovGlenn Wilcox.

Michelle Addington
Professor, Yale School of Architecture

Michael Batty
Director, Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis; Professor of Planning, The Bartlett, University College of London

Keith Besserud
AIA, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Julian Bleecker
Co-founder, Near Future Laboratory; Designer, Technologist, Researcher, Design Strategic Projects Studio, Nokia Design, Los Angeles

Andrew Borgart
Researcher, Delft University of Technology

Leah Buechley
Assistant Professor, Media Arts and Sciences; Director, High-Low Tech Research Group, Media Lab, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mark Burry
Professor of Innovation, Director, Spatial Information Architecture Laboratory, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology; Executive Architect, Researcher, Temple Sagrada Família, Barcelona, Spain

Michael Cadwell
Professor and Architecture Section Head, Knowlton School of Architecture, The Ohio State University

Hernan Diaz Alonso
Founder and Principal, Xefirotarch; Graduate Thesis Coordinator and Distinguished Faculty Member, Southern California Institute of Architecture

Evan Douglis
Dean, School of Architecture, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Principal, Evan Douglis Studio

Anna Dyson
Program Director, Associate Professor, School of Architecture, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Director, Center for Architecture Science and Ecology (C.A.S.E.)

Marc Fornes

Usman Haque
Founder, Pachube; Director, Haque Design + Research Ltd; CEO, Connected Environments Ltd.

Walter Hood
Principal, Hood Design; Professor of Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning and Urban Design, College of Environmental Design, University of California, Berkeley

Natalie Jeremijenko
Associate Professor of Visual Art, Steinhardt School, New York University

Sheila Kennedy
Principal, Kennedy & Violich Architecture, Ltd.

Axel Kilian
Assistant Professor, Princeton University School of Architecture

Sean Lally
Founder, WEATHERS; Assistant Professor, School of Architecture, University of Illinois at Chicago

Jeffrey MacKie-Mason
Dean, School of Information, University of Michigan

Liat Margolis
Assistant Professor, Landscape Architecture, John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design, University of Toronto

Vernon Mays
Senior writer, Gensler; Editor-at-large, Architect Magazine

Robert Middlebrooks
Industry Strategy and Relations Manager for AEC Solutions, Autodesk, Inc.

Heather Roberge
Director, Undergraduate Program of Architectural Studies, Assistant Professor, Architecture and Urban Design, University of California, Los Angeles; Principal, murmur

Ashley Schafer
Associate Professor, Knowlton School of Architecture, The Ohio State University; Editor and Co-founder, Praxis

Craig Scott
Principal, IwamotoScott Architecture; Associate Professor of Architecture, California College of the Arts

Eric Sheppard
Regents Professor of Geography; Associate Director, Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change, University of Minnesota

Bruce Sterling
American Science Fiction Author; Professor of Internet Studies and Science Fiction at the European Graduate School

Amos Winter
Director, Mobility Lab, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


September 25, 2010
10:00 am
Event Categories: