Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Urban and Regional Planning Alumni Reception at APA Conference

April 15, 2013 at 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm

On April 15, Taubman College Urban and Regional Planning alumni and students toured AECOM’s Chicago office and networked with fellow alums as part of the Michigan Reception at the 2013 National American Planning Association annual conference in Chicago.

A big thank you to Doug Smith, AIA, AICP, Managing Principal at AECOM Chicago for hosting the event. Over 50 alumni and students attend the reception. The event was full of alums representing all areas of the country (and globe) and the urban planning profession.

Recent graduates from the Urban and Regional Planning program won the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) Student Project Award for Applied Research. The students; Rob Linn, Oana Druta, John Drain, Pramoth Kitjakarnlertudom, Daniel Stern, Kate Coenen, Te-Ping Kang, Jordan Twardy, and Greg Holman completed the 142-page winning project under the guidance of Taubman College faculty advisors Margaret Dewar and Eric Dueweke.

Above: Doug Smith, AIA, AICP, Managing Principal at AECOM Chicago gives a tour of the new AECOM Chicago offices to MUP students and alumni. Pictured are Professor June Thomas, Arthur Prokosch,MUP 1st year, Aja Bonner, MUP 1st Year, and Samyukth Shenbaga, Senior Planner at Chicago Metropolitan Agency of Planning.

Above: Urban and Regional Planning Alumni catch up during the reception. Feature are Kirk Westphal, Principal at Westphal Associates; Liz Jellema, Research Director at World Business Chicago; David Somers, Bicycle Planner at Los Angeles Department of City Planning; David Leopold, Program Manager at CDOT Streetscape and Sustainable Design Program.

Above Left: Students and alumni enjoy a great view of the Chicago skyline and great networking in the AECOM Social Hub on the 14th floor of their Chicago office.

Above Right: Accepting the AICP Student Project Award for Applied Research in Chicago are students from class of 2012 capstone project are Kate Coenen, John Drain, Greg Holman, Robb Linn and Jordan Twardy.


April 15, 2013
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm