↑ top

No. 9


Practice Session No. 9 was led by Arthur Change and Nader Tehrani of NADAAA. Using the practice's ongoing work with the campus of the Rhode Island School of Design, the two asked students to help envision the future of collective living on college campuses through radicalizing the architectural envelope. 

Nader Tehrani is principal of NADAAA and the Dean of the Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture at the Cooper Union in New York. He was previously a professor of architecture at MIT, where he served as Head of the Department from 2010-2014. Tehrani’s work has been recognized with notable awards, including the Cooper Hewitt National Design Award in Architecture (2007), the United States Artists Fellowship in Architecture and Design, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Architecture. Throughout his career, Tehrani has received an astonishing 18 Progressive Architecture Awards as well as numerous AIA, BSA and ID awards. He served as the Frank O. Gehry International Visiting Chair in Architectural Design at the University of Toronto and the inaugural Paul Helmle Fellow at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona. He also recently served as the William A. Bernoudy Architect in Residence at the American Academy in Rome.

Arthur Chang is a Principal at NADAAA. In Arthur's 15 years of professional practice he has acted as Designer and Project Manager of a variety of institutional, commercial, public and residential projects. Arthur has served as design lead on numerous award-winning projects such as the Melbourne School of Design, winner of over a dozen international awards. Arthur is currently designing a new subway head-house for the MBTA in Boston’s Seaport District. He is also leading construction administration for a residence hall for the Rhode Island School of Design. 

Plan Your Future
Housing, Community, and Economic Development
Land Use and Environmental Planning
Physical Planning and Design
Transportation Planning
Global and Comparative Planning