Saarinen Swanson Essay Competition Winners Address Contemporary Critical Discourse in Design and Urbanism

Established in 1994, the Saarinen Swanson Essay Competition writing fund at Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning encourages fine writing as a medium to foster critical thinking and exposition among future professionals in architecture and planning. The competition invited students to submit 1000-1500 word essays addressing contemporary critical discourse in design and/or urbanism. The essays were judged (anonymously) by Professor of Architecture Caroline Constant and Associate Professor of Urban Planning David Thacher.

Two awards of $2000 each:

“Lessons from a Public Participation Session”
Oana Druta, M.U.P.’11

“Michigan Central Station”
Michael McCulloch, Doctoral Candidate

Two awards of $750 each:

“Heart[h] of Dis.Course”
Micah Rutenberg, M.Arch.’10

“Effecting Social Change: Architecture as Servitude”
Lauren Jones, B.S.’11