AIA, Willeke, and Honor Awards granted to student work featured in SPREE

AIA, Willeke, and Honor Awards granted to student work featured in SPREE 

The 2013 Taubman College Architecture Student Exhibition, SPREE, took place March 18th-22nd in the CMYK Galleries of the Art + Architecture Building. Members of the Taubman College Alumni Society Board of Governors and AIA Huron Valley participated in judging the undergraduate and graduate student exhibition and Willeke Portfolio competition.

Awards were given to the following categories:

  • AIA Awards: Undergraduate – $1,000 and Graduate – $1,500
  • Undergraduate Awards: UG1 and UG3
  • Graduate Awards: 3G2, 2G1-3G4, and 2G3-2G5
  • Willeke Portfolio Awards: Honorable Mention, 2nd place – $5,000, and 1st place – $10,000

Notable winners earning monetary prizes included graduate students Lyla Feinsod, Lijing Quin, and Annie-Locke Scherer (2G1/3G4 – Claudia Wigger) who shared the $1,500 graduate AIA Award and Carlos C. Pompeo (UG3 – Michael Kennedy) who earned the $1,000 undergraduate AIA Award. Courtney Krause (UG4 – Andrew Holder) received $5,000 by taking second place in the Willeke Portfolio competition while Eric Nelson (UG4 – Dawn Gilpin) captured the first place prize of $10,000.

The award presentations were presented by representatives of AIA Huron Valley and the Alumni Board on March 22nd in front of a filled A+A Auditorium. The Alumni Board also presented the Leonard B. Willeke Design Prize. This annual undergraduate portfolio competition honoring the late architect recognizes design excellence and innovation and makes awards totaling $15,000.

For a complete list of winners and their work, view the final PDF of the presentation. (PDF 4.3MB)

Special thanks to the following judges and faculty representatives who assisted with this year’s judging:

  • AIA Awards Judges: Charles Bultman / Charles Bultman Architect; Jessica Green / Hopkins Burns; Bonnie Greenspoon / AIA, LEED AP, M.Arch.’92, Lewis Greenspoon Architects; Aaron Vermeulen / AIA, CDT, M.Arch.’00, OX Studio; and AIAHV Awards Judging Coordinator: Michael P. McCulloch / AIA
  • Undergraduate Awards Judges: Janet Attarian / AIA, LEED AP BD + C, B.S.’90, M.Arch.’92, Project Director, Streetscape and Sustainable Design Program, Chicago Department of Transportation; Gordon Carrier / FAIA, NCARB, B.S.’79, M.Arch.’81, Carrier Johnson + CULTURE, San Diego; Thomas J. Sherry / B.S.’91, M.Arch.’93, Vice President, Hamilton Anderson; Joseph M. Valerio / FAIA, B.Arch.’70, Principal, Valerio Dewalt Train, Chicago; and Faculty Representative: Glenn Wilcox / Assistant Professor of Architecture, Taubman College
  • Graduate Awards Judges: Janice Barnes / M.S.’99, Ph.D.’02, Principal, Perkins + Will, New York City; Michael C. Corby / FAIA, B.S.’82, M.Arch.’84, Executive Vice President, Integrated Architecture, Grand Rapids, Michigan; Daimian S. Hines / AIA, NOMA, LEED AP, B.S.’99, M.Arch.’01, HOK, Houston; Peter J. Stavenger / Associate AIA, M.Arch.’06, Associate, Fentress Architects, Denver; Ilene R. Tyler / FAIA, FAPT, LEED AP, B.Arch.’70, Director of Preservation, Quinn Evans Architects, Ann Arbor; and Faculty Representative: Joy Knoblauch / Assistant Professor of Architecture, Taubman College
  • Willeke Portfolio Awards Judges: Jacqueline Chavis / AIA, LEED AP BC+D, B.S.’02, M.Arc h.’04, Associate, Gensler, Washington, D.C.; James W. Simeo / AIA, LEED AP, NCARB, B.S.’83, Principal, CO Architects, Los Angeles; and Faculty Representative: Anya Sirota / Assis tant Professor of Architecture, Taubman College