Moran and Thenhaus Winners of 2015 Architectural League Prize

Moran and Thenhaus Winners of 2015 Architectural League Prize

Moran and Thenhaus Winners of 2015 Architectural League Prize: Authenticity


Assistant professor Thom Moran and lecturer Clark Thenhaus are two of the six winners of the 2015 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. Also included in the group this year is Dan Adams (B.S.’02) with partner Marie Adams. 

The Architectural League Prize is one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects and designers. The Prize, established in 1981, recognizes exemplary and provocative work by young practitioners and provides a public forum for the exchange of their ideas. Each year, The Architectural League and the Young Architects + Designers Committee organize a portfolio competition. Individuals representing six winning practices are then invited to present their work in a variety of public fora, including lectures, an exhibition, and on the League’s website. 

The jurors for 2015 asked entrants to organize their work under the theme of Authenticity and “how design, technology, and practice challenge authenticity and the ways that originality, expression, and authorship continue to be pursued.” 

Thom Moran’s work focuses on “using humor to investigate the relationships between architecture, environments and objects.” 

Clark Thenhaus’ practice, Endemic, engages the term’s definition “concerning context, language, and material sensibilities,” and “by making contact with fundamental, cross-cultural conversations.”

For full information about the program and this year’s winners, click here.

Moran and Thenhaus add to a robust list of Taubman College faculty who have won since the inception of the award in 1981 including: Adam Fure (2014), Andrew Holder (2014), Wesley McGee (2013), Catie Newell (2011), Geoff Thun and Kathy Velikov (2008), Craig Borum and Karl Daubmann (2006), Keith Mitnick and Mireille Roddier (2004), Steven Mankouche (2003), and Monica Ponce de Leon (1997).

Faculty: Thomas Moran ,