2017 Architecture Student Show Recognizes Outstanding Student Work

2017 Architecture Student Show Recognizes Outstanding Student Work

The Annual Student Show is an exhibition held in the spring that features faculty-selected projects representing the best work from the fall semester. Taubman College is fortunate to have the support and partnership of both the local professional community as well as engagement of alumni from across the country. Each year representatives of these groups generously spend time reviewing work exhibited in the annual student show and recognize the best work with awards. This year’s student show was held March 26-April 1, 2017, and was organized by assistant professor of architecture, Ellie Abrons..

2017 Student Show

Awards given as follows:


AIA National/AIA Huron Valley Awards are presented to students in the form of scholarships whose projects “embody the exciting promise of realization while addressing real world challenges.”


  • Undergraduate / Arch312 (ug1) / First Place – Janet Dong
  • Graduate / Arch552: Institutions (2g1/3g4) / First Place Tie – Kimball Kaiser
  • Graduate / Arch552: Institutions (2g1/3g4) / First Place Tie – Tyler Schaafsma
  • Graduate / Arch412: Form (3g2) / Award Of Merit – Lorraine Gemino


  • Joshua Hendershot B.S.’10, M.Arch.’12, Architect, Lindhout Associates Architects
  • Molly Bachelor B.S.’02, M.Arch.’05, Principal, Molly Bachelor Architect
  • Alexis Cecil AIA, LEED AP, Associate, Quinn Evans
  • Jan Culbertson FAIA, LEED AP BD+C, GGA, B.S.’77, M.Arch.’79, Senior Principal, AC3
  • Aaron Vermeulen M.Arch.’00, Principal, 0|X Studio
  • Stephen Wilson B.S.’06, M.Arch.’08, Architect, 0|X Studio


The alumni board is a diverse group of professionals from different geographies, widely varied types of practices and sizes of firms, and represent a spectrum of gender, age, and ethnic diversity. The Alumni Board Awards come with cash prizes.

Alumni Board of Governors Awards:

  • Graduate / Arch672: Systems (2g3/3g6) / First Place – Theresa Chua, Saumon Oboudiyat, Run Yu
  • Post-professional / Master of Science / First Place – Aneri Mehta, Shuai Zhang
  • Undergraduate / Arch432 (ug3) / First Place – Sophie Ruf
  • Undergraduate / Arch432 (ug3) / Award Of Merit – Olivia Howard
  • Graduate / Arch672: Systems (2g3/3g6) / Award Of Merit – Corey Blaskie, Adrian Bonin, Frank Gibase
  • Graduate / Arch672: Systems (2g3/3g6) / Award Of Merit – Siobhan Klinkenberg, Patrick Linder, Liz Szatko, Tyler Whitney


  • Gordon Carrier FAIA, NCARB, B.S.’79, M.Arch.’81, Design Principal, Carrier Johnson + Culture, San Diego, CA
  • Ilene Tyler FAIA, FAPT, LEED AP, B.Arch.’70, Principal and Owner, Ilene R. Tyler, LLC,
  • Ann Arbor, MI
  • Robin Guenther FAIA, M.Arch.’78, Principal, Perkins + Will, New York
  • Jay Longo AIA, B.S.’92, M.Arch.’94, Principal, Solomon Cordwell Buenz, Chicago, IL
  • Jeanne MacLeamy FAIA, B.Arch.’68, Former Mayor of Novato, CA
  • Heather Taylor AIA, LEED AP, B.S.’90, Associate Principal, Payette, Boston, MA


One of the largest and most prestigious awards at the College is the Leonard B. Willeke Design Prize which recognizes design excellence and innovation through an annual portfolio competition.  

Leonard B. Willeke Portfolio Competition:

  • Undergraduate / First Place – $10,000 Award – Jiashi Yu
  • Undergraduate / Second Place – $4,000 Award – Sophie Ruf
  • Undergraduate / Second Place – $4,000 Award – R. Michie Nimsombun
  • Undergraduate / Award Of Merit For Presentation And Craft – Henry Peters
  • Undergraduate / Award Of Merit For Presentation And Content – Ellis Wills Begley


  • Jill Gotthelf AIA, FAPT, B.S.’83, Principal, Walter Sedovic Architects, Irvington, NY
  • James Simeo AIA, LEED AP, NCARB, B.S.’83, Principal, CO Architects, Los Angeles, CA
  • Tsz Yan Ng / Assistant Professor of Architecture, Taubman College

View the presentation PDF

For more information on past Student Show winners: