Taubman College architecture students selected as HKS 2010 Detroit Design Fellows

Taubman College architecture students Lisa Sauve, Adam Smith, Julie Simpson, and Marc Maxey have been selected as HKS 2010 Detroit Design Fellows. The HKS Design Fellowship was initiated to cultivate emerging design talent, excite and stimulate new design approaches, and benefit the communities we serve. It is an intense, full-day charrette on March 5, 2010, where students and young professionals come together with civic leaders and academic professors to solve challenges and shape communities through design. This year the focus is an exploration of memory and decay in architecture, at the scar left by the demolition of the original Tiger Stadium. The Fellows will address questions such as, “When does architectural decay surpass memory? What kind of transformation is appropriate for the issues that Detroit is facing?”