Fure and Holder named Architectural League Prize winners

Assistant Professors of Architecture Adam Fure (SIFT Studio) and Andrew Holder (The LADG) were two of the six winners chosen for this year’s Architectural League Prize. Known as one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects and designers, this year’s theme was “Overlay” and how overlay (iterative, conceptual, and notational) drives discourse, tension between iterations, design solutions, and the parameters by which work is reviewed. The Architectural League website posted the following about the winners:

Adam Fure and his Ann Arbor design practice, SIFT Studio, enliven, in his words, “old substances through new treatments; composing new aesthetic mixtures from the matter at [one’s] fingertips.” Through these experiments, SIFT Studio “promotes architecture’s unique capacity to shape experience, which is neither essentialized nor thought to be static and singular.” Recent work includes a multimedia installation in Stuttgart, Germany, that transforms space, sound, and light into variable dimensions, and a conceptual mirror house that was a finalist for BOFFO Building Fashion’s Linda Farrow competition in 2013.

Mirror Mirror, with Ellie Abrons | courtesy of SIFT Studio

Established in 2004, The Los Angeles Design Group (The LADG), is led by principals Claus Benjamin Freyinger and Andrew Holder. The firm works at all scales, and has completed projects in California, Colorado, Hawaii, Minnesota, New York, Oregon, and the United Kingdom. The founders see their work as contributing to a “longer history of ideas,” and draw on this history to craft unexpected solutions to conventional problems. Recent projects include installations at the Taubman College Gallery at the University of Michigan, and several commercial interior renovations in New York and Santa Monica.

In the Garden Grows a Lump | courtesy of The LADG

The winners will present their work in a variety of public fora, including lectures, an exhibition, a catalogue published by Princeton Architectural Press, and on the League’s website. This year’s Young Architects + Designers Committee included Ajmal Aqtash, Beat Schenk, and Bryan Young. The 2014 jury consisted of Preston Scott Cohen, Evan Douglis, Florian Idenburg, Jennifer Lee, Charles Renfro, and Annabelle Selldorf. Visit the Architectural League website for more information.

Faculty: Adam Fure ,