Architecture students recognized in "FULL" student show awards presentation

Undergraduate and graduate Architecture students recognized in “Full” student show awards presentation

The 2015 Taubman College Architecture Student Exhibition, FULL, took place March 23 – 28 in the CMYK Galleries of the Art + Architecture Building. Members of the Taubman College Alumni Board of Governors and AIA Huron Valley Chapter participated in judging the undergraduate and graduate student exhibition and Willeke Portfolio competition. Awards were given in the following categories:

  • Alumni Board of Governors Awards (Undergraduate and Graduate): $400 for each undergraduate and graduate studio winner
  • AIA Huron Valley Chapter Awards: $1,250 for each undergraduate and graduate winner
  • Willeke Portfolio Award: $10,000 for the first place winner and $8,000 for the second place winner

Student winners earning monetary prizes included:

Alumni Board of Governors Awards:

  • Undergraduate: Kati Albee (Hansen) and Kitae Kim (Harris), ARCH 312: UG1 (Jury Award Tie – $200 each)
  • Undergraduate: Mark Gibbons (Vance), ARCH 432: UG3 (Jury Award – $400)
  • Graduate: Samantha Okolita (Thenhaus), ARCH 412: Form (Jury Award – $400)
  • Graduate: Hans Hyunseong Min (Borum), ARCH 552: Networks (Jury Award – $400)
  • Caitlin Cashner and Jayme Van Oot (Miller), ARCH 672: Propositions (Jury Award – $400)
  • Dakota Pahel-Short (Thenhaus), ARCH 412: Form (Citation);
  • Safei Gu, Lauren Mackenzie, Parisa Mehdiabadi, Brianne Papendick, Justin Ping, Ken Secco, Tyler Smith, Sam Tremont, Robyn Wolochow, Di Wu, Julie Wu, ARCH 672: Propositions (Gräbner “Global Design Studio – China Interdisciplinary” (Studio Citation)

AIA Huron Valley Chapter Awards: 

  • Undergraduate: Kati Albee (Hansen), ARCH 312: UG1 (Jury Award – $1,250)
  • Graduate: Hans Hyunseong Min (Borum), ARCH 552: Networks (Jury Award – $1,250)
  • Graduate: Yojairo Lomeli  (Wilkins), ARCH 672: Propositions (Graduate Honorable Mention)

Leonard B. Willeke Portfolio Competition: 

  • Tyler Suomala (1st Place – $10,000)
  • Yurong Wu (2nd Place – $8,000)
  • Anne Graziano, Bjornar S. Haveland, Ron Ostezan (Honorable Mentions)

The 2015 “FULL” award presentation was presented by representatives of the AIA Huron Valley Chapter and the Alumni Board of Governors on March 27 in the A+A Auditorium. The Alumni Board of Governors also presented the Leonard B. Willeke Design Prize. This annual undergraduate portfolio competition honoring the late architect recognizes design excellence and innovation. For a complete list of winners and their work, view the final PDF of the presentation.

Special thanks to the following judges and faculty representatives who assisted with this year’s judging:

  • Undergraduate Awards (ARCH 312: UG1):
    • Juror: Robin Guenther / FAIA, LEED-AP,  M.Arch.’78, Principal, Perkins + Will, New York
    • Juror: Gordon Carrier / FAIA, NCARB, B.S.’79, M.Arch.’81, Design Principal, Carrier Johnson + CULTURE, San Diego
    • Faculty Representative: Anca Trandafirescu / Assistant Professor of Architecture
  • Undergraduate Awards (ARCH 432: UG3):
    • Juror: Jacqueline Chavis / AIA, LEED AP BC+D, B.S.’02, M.Arch.’04, Associate, Gensler, Washington, D.C.
    • Juror: Ilene R. Tyler / FAIA, FAPT, LEED AP, B.Arch.’70, Preservation architect, Ann Arbor
    • Faculty Representative: Anca Trandafirescu / Assistant Professor of Architecture
  • Graduate Awards (ARCH 412: FORM; ARCH 552: NETWORKS; and ARCH 672: PROPOSITIONS):
    • Juror: Peter J. Stavenger / AIA, M.Arch.’06, Associate, Fentress Architects, Denver
    • Juror: James W. Simeo / AIA, LEED AP, NCARB, B.S.’83, Principal, CO Architects, Los Angeles
    • Juror: Michael C. Corby / FAIA, B.S.’82, M.Arch.’84, Executive Vice President, Integrated Architecture, Grand Rapids
    • Faculty Representative: Malcolm McCullough / Professor of Architecture
  • AIA Huron Valley Chapter Awards:
    • Juror: Van Hunsberger / B.S.’85, M.Arch.’87, VanArchitects
    • Juror: Jan Culbertson / B.S.’77, M.Arch.’79, A3C Collaborative Architecture
    • Juror: Jim Stevens / AIA, Associate Professor of Architecture, Lawrence Technological University
    • Juror: Donald Wesley / Architect, University of Michigan Hospital Facilities Planning and Development
  • Leonard B. Willeke Portfolio Competition:
  • Juror: Thomas J. Sherry / B.S.’91, M.Arch.’93, Senior Consultant, The Kresge Foundation
  • Juror: Joseph M. Valerio / FAIA, B.Arch.’70, Principal, Valerio Dewalt Train, Chicago
  • Faculty Representative: Amy Kulper / Assistant Professor of Architecture