↑ top

« Back to Faculty Directory

Craig Borum

Professor of Architecture

Craig Borum, FAIA, is a professor of architecture at the University of Michigan’s Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning. From 2010 to 2012, he served as the director of the Master of Architecture program at Taubman College. He also is the founding principal of PLY and has overseen the growth and transformation of the practice into PLY+ architecture, urbanism, design, a collaborative practice in partnership with Taubman College’s Jen Maigret and William Carpenter. At PLY, Borum’s work has been recognized with a citation from the Progressive Architecture Awards and an R&D Award, both from Architect Magazine. His designs also have won an American Architecture Award from the Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design and a Wood Design Award from Wood Design and Building Magazine. In addition, he has been the principal designer on eight projects that have won Michigan American Institute of Architects Design Awards in the building and interior design categories. He also is a recipient of the highly competitive Young Architects Prize from the Architectural League of New York and, in 2007, he was included in Wallpaper Magazine’s list of “101 of the World’s Most Interesting New Architects.” His designs have won prizes in numerous national and international competitions, including first prize in urban design in the 15th Quito Biennale of Architecture. His work also has been exhibited and featured in major publications in the United States and internationally.

Borum has taught visiting studios at the Southern California Institute of Architecture and the University of Cincinnati. He has served on design juries and lectured at numerous institutions, including the Southern California Institute of Architecture, the University of Virginia, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Yale University, Syracuse University, Tulane University, the University of Minnesota, the University of Cincinnati, the University of Illinois Urbana-Champagne, the University of Colorado, and the University of Illinois Chicago, as well as internationally in Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, and Argentina.

Borum received his Bachelor of Science in architecture and his Master of Architecture from the University of Virginia.


Selected Articles

  • “In Practice: PLY+-- Light from Above,” AN Interiors, Summer 2019, p. 22-27.

Plan Your Future
Housing, Community, and Economic Development
Land Use and Environmental Planning
Physical Planning and Design
Transportation Planning
Global and Comparative Planning