Peñarroyo Awarded 2019 Architectural League Prize

Assistant Professor Cyrus Peñarroyo has received a 2019 Architectural League Prize from the Architectural League of New York.

Peñarroyo is a Filipino-American designer and educator whose work explores the effects of contemporary media and digital culture on architecture, in particular how the circulation of images and the means behind their construction are reshaping the built environment. He joined Taubman College as the William Muschenheim Fellow in 2016 and is a partner in the Ann Arbor-based design practice EXTENTS with fellow faculty member McLain Clutter. Previously, he taught at Princeton University and Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation. He worked for LTL Architects and the Office for Metropolitan Architecture in New York and at Bureau Spectacular in Chicago. He was project lead on Manual of Section (Princeton Architectural Press, 2016) and Cities Without Ground: A Hong Kong Guidebook (ORO, 2012). Peñarroyo’s work has been exhibited in New York, Boston, São Paulo, Rotterdam, and Venice.

Assistant Professor Cyrus Peñarroyo

The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition that is considered one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects and designers. The 2019 theme, Just, explored architectural action with the understanding that a multiplicity of coexisting and contradictory attitudes may be constructive, liberating, and justified. This year’s Architectural League Prize competition asked entrants to consider the just in how they approach the practice of architecture, whether through experimentation in research and design advocacy or by advancing speculative and applied techniques within the discipline.

Open to designers 10 years or less out of school, the competition draws entries from around North America. Winners are chosen through a portfolio competition juried by distinguished architects, artists, and critics, including the Young Architects + Designers Committee, which is comprised of past League Prize winners. Serving on this year’s were Mario Gooden, Juliet Kinchin, and Paul Lewis, as well as past winners and current committee members Isabel Abascal, Bryony Roberts, and Anya Sirota — an associate professor at Taubman College who won the award in 2018.

In addition to Sirota, the following current and former Taubman College faculty have won the Architectural League Prize since its inception in 1981: El Hadi Jazairy (2017), Thomas Moran and Clark Thenhaus (2015), Adam Fure (2014), Andrew Holder (2014), Wesley McGee (2013), Catie Newell (2011), Geoff Thun and Kathy Velikov (2008), Craig Borum and Karl Daubmann (2006), Keith Mitnick and Mireille Roddier (2004), Steven Mankouche (2003), and Monica Ponce de Leon (1997). View the list and see current faculty work.

Peñarroyo’s installation will be part of an exhibition of 2019 Architectural League Prize winners that will be at the Parsons School of Design / The New School in New York from June 21 to July 31, 2019. In addition, Peñarroyo will deliver a public lecture on June 20, 2019, at 7 p.m. Reservations are recommended.

Read more about the League Prize

Read more about the winners