Grace Alli and Genevieve Doman are the Winners of the 2015 Wallenberg Studio Award

Grace Alli and Genevieve Doman are the Winners of the 2015 Wallenberg Studio Award

In efforts to preserve and build upon the ever-growing legacy of the University of Michigan’s celebrated architecture alumnus, Raoul Wallenberg, the eponymous scholarship is annually awarded to undergraduate students who live out the late Wallenberg’s humanitarian-focused influence– one characterized by empathetic intentions and cultural reform that are reflected in architectural innovation. The scholarship grants recipients the opportunity to expand upon their architecture studies by way of culture of their desired destination. This year, Taubman College’s graduating undergraduate architecture students examined the various meanings and constructs of “participation” within the framework of our lives, societies, and living spaces.

Thank you to the distinguished 2015 Wallenberg Studio Competition Jurors and Symposium Participants:

  • Julian Bonder, Principal, Wodiczko + Bonder 
  • Julie Eizenberg, FAIA, Founding Principal, Koning Eizenberg
  • Karen Van Lengen, FAIA, William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Architecture, University of Virginia

2015 Wallenberg Studio Awards First-Place winners and recipients of $15,000 each:

Grace Alli for “Contested Ground: Unearthing L’Enfant’s Washington.” Anca Trandafirescu’s studio. Alli’s project examines society’s understanding of the Nation’s history through its monuments and the discrepancy between the tangible edifices and the age-old myths that keep them alive.

Genevieve Doman for “Patria O Forastero: A Vessel of Reconciliation, Homeland or Foreign Land.” Dawn Gilpin’s studio. Despite the United State’s recently established neutrality with Cuba, A Vessel of Reconciliation gives light to the tarnished familial and community relations that still remain. 

Honorable mentions went to the following three students:

  • Lauren Grizbowski for “A Chapel In a Lake. A Lake in a Labryinth.” Clark Thenhaus’ Studio
  • Jamie Waxter for “Preface.” Anca Trandafirescu’s studio
  • Stella Zhang for “A Land of Possibilities,” Dawn Gilpin’s studio

2015 Wallenberg Studio Reviews from Taubman College on Vimeo.