2015 Master of Architecture Student Awards

2015 Master of Architecture Student Awards

At Taubman College’s Commencement Exercises, held May 3, 2015, noteworthy graduate architecture students were awarded with top honors. Each year, the chosen recipients are recognized for academics, leadership, or their exemplary character reminiscent of late alumni. In her presentation of extraordinary graduates, Architecture program Chair Sharon Haar spoke of how architects think projectively — drawing from history and global influence. She continued to stress the students commendable achievement, namely how a Master of Architecture is one of the highest degrees one can receive in the field.

Mark Keller received the AIA Henry Adams Medal, a national recognition annually awarded to the student of highest scholastic standing in each of the participating universities graduate Architecture program.

The AIA Henry Adams Certificate was given to Jennifer Kay Wai Ng for her second highest academic standing in this year’s graduating class.

Sidney Migoski received the Marian Sarah Parker Memorial Award, an award in memorium of the first University of Michigan woman engineering graduate, shared annually among two outstanding women candidates — one M. Arch graduate and one senior in engineering.

The Alpha Rho Chi Bronze Medal was given on behalf of the national architectural fraternity to Jayme Van Oot, recognized for her exemplary leadership and professional attitude.

For her thesis project, “Metastatic Metropolis” in Maria Arquero and McLain Clutter’s studio, Alexandra Chen was awarded the 2015 Burton L. Kampner Memorial Award. Established in 1967 by contributions from alumni and friends of Burton L. Kampner, B.Arch.’53, this memorial award is presented annually to one student in the Master of Architecture Thesis Studio, based on the academic year. The selection is made by a jury consisting of architecture faculty appointed by the chair of the architecture program. 

This year’s faculty also recognized three Thesis Citations:

“Aeriform Ecologies;” Jennifer Kay Wai Ng

“Noun Things;” Brian Barber and Jospeh Donelko Jr.

“Nokomis One;” Caitlin Cashner, Stephen Sarver; Daniel Tish, Craig Borum / Geoff Thün Studio

Select projects, including those listed above, will be on exhibition in the Taubman College Gallery, opening in late May, running through September 2015.

To see past award winners visit: