Taubman College Announces 2023 Awards for Student and Faculty Excellence

Taubman College congratulates the students who graduated the weekend of April 29, 2023, and joined the college’s global community of over 10,000 alumni. As part of weekend festivities, the following students and faculty received annual awards for excellence.

Doctoral Studies

Distinguished Dissertation Award in Urban & Regional Planning: Naganika Sanga

Doctoral Student Award in Urban Planning: Eric Bettis

Master of Urban and Regional Planning

Academic Achievement Award: Melika Belhaj

Eric Dueweke Service to the Community Award: Kathryn Economou

Service to Taubman College and the Urban and Regional Planning Program: Srishti Jaipuria

American Institute of Certified Planners Award: Kira Barsten

Master of Urban Design

Master of Urban Design Award: Khalid Khairi MB Aburajab Altamimi, Tanner Vargas

Master of Science

Master of Science in Architecture Citizenship Award: Tuli Bhattacharjee, Mohammad Karkoutly

Faculty Awards

Donna M. Salzer Award for Teaching Excellence: Keith Mitnick

Donna M. Salzer Award for Teaching Excellence: Melissa Harris

Faculty Excellence Award: Larissa Larsen

Donna M. Salzer Award for Teaching Excellence: Catie Newell

Master of Architecture

AIA Medal for Academic Excellence: Brian Smith

Burton L. Kampner Memorial Award: Brian Smith

Thesis Award: Brian Smith,”Unlawful Assemblies; Normalcy Never Again,” Faculty: Robert Adams and Dawn Gilpin

Alpha Rho Chi Medal: Walter Hunt

ARCC King Student Medal: Elizabeth Ervin

Bachelor of Science in Architecture

Wallenberg Award: Ella Edelstein, Ann Borek, “Curb Appeal,” Ana Morcillo Pallares Studio

Wallenberg Award: Man Lam Cheng, Dalia Schwarzbaum, “Salt,” Anya Sirota Studio

Wallenberg Recognition of Merit for Research and Prototyping: Amely Wackerbauer, Zariah Hernandez, Natalie Brown & Sierra Shibuta, Lauryn Leuenberg, Syvion Thomas & Ian Merida, Yiran (Lisa) Liu & Raul Deniz Altin, “All Studio,” Leah Wulfman Studio

Wallenberg Recognition of Merit for Research and Experimentation: Ximena Zuleta, Sierra Safian, “Glitched Productions,” Alina Nazmeeva Studio