Recipients of the Research Through Making Competition Announced

The recipients of the Taubman College Research through Making Grant Competition have been announced. Congratulations to Robert Adams; Josh Bard, Steven Mankouche, and Tsz Yan Ng; Karl Daubmann; Nataly Gattegno and Jason Johnson; Perry Kulper; and Keith Mitnick and Mireille Roddier.

2009 marks the first year of this competition, and the jury included Sarah Herda, director of the Graham Foundation; Reed Kroloff, director of the Cranbrook Academy of Art and principal of Jones/Kroloff; and Catherine Seavitt-Nordenson , New York-based practicing architect, Rome Prize winner, adjunct professor at Princeton University, and Taubman College Alumna.

The Research through Making Grant is intended to fund research and experimentation through making. Applicants must have had a clear research topic with a comprehensible budget. Projects must be completed by September 30, 2009, and sites of installations will vary. Possibilities include the Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston, the University of Michigan Museum of Art, and the University of Michigan campus.

The recipients’ topics are displayed below.

Spontaneous Mutations, Genetic Deletions, Adaptive Environments, and Assistive Technology in the Compression of Developmental Time or Crawling Sticks and Other Architectural Accoutrements, Actants, and Apparatus
Robert Adams

Digital Steam Bending
Josh Bard, Steven Mankouche, and Tsz Yan Ng

In Search of the (w)hole
Karl Daubmann

Nataly Gattegno and Jason Johnson

Spatial Blooms + Here be Dragons
Perry Kulper

Heterogeneous Constructions
Keith Mitnick and Mireille Roddier