Eunsung Tiffany Cho and Jamie Lutz are the Winners of the 2016 Wallenberg Studio Award

Eunsung Tiffany Cho and Jamie Lutz are the Winners of the 2016 Wallenberg Studio Award

In efforts to preserve and build upon the ever-growing legacy of the University of Michigan’s celebrated architecture alumnus, Raoul Wallenberg, the eponymous scholarship is annually awarded to undergraduate students who live out the late Wallenberg’s humanitarian-focused influence– one characterized by empathetic intentions and cultural reform that are reflected in architectural innovation. The scholarship grants recipients the opportunity to expand upon their architecture studies by way of culture of their desired destination. This year, Taubman College’s graduating undergraduate architecture students examined the various meanings and constructs of “participation” within the framework of our lives, societies, and living spaces.

Thank you to the distinguished 2016 Wallenberg Studio Competition Jurors and Symposium Participants:

Julian Bonder, Roger Williams University
Dr. Katerina Ruedi Ray, Bowling Green State University
Jonathan Solomon, School of the Art Institute of Chicago

2016 Wallenberg Studio Awards First-Place winners and recipients of $10,000 each:

  • Eunsung Tiffany Cho for “Safe Travels.” Anca Trandafirescu’s studio. 
  • Jamie Lutz for “De Fence.” Neal Robinson’s studio.

A Special Commendation Award was given to Kitae Kim for “Fugue State: A Memorial to the Hikikomori of Japan.” Anca Trandafirescu’s studio. Honorable mentions went to the following two students:

Kati Albee for “Inscriptions of Security.” Dawn Gilpin’s Studio
Diego Garcia for “Disobedient Architecture: Staging the Political Facade in Protest.” Dawn Gilpin’s studio

View the presentation (PDF)


Wallenberg Awards and Symposium