McGee Wins ACADIA Innovative Research Award of Excellence

McGee Wins ACADIA’s Innovative Research Award of Excellence

Assistant Professor and Director of the FABLab, Wes McGee, wins the 2017 ACADIA (Association for Computer Aided Design in Architecture) Innovative Research Award of Excellence. McGee who is also a co-founder of the design practice, Matter Design, will present a lecture at this year’s ACADIA Conference, “Disciplines & Disruption” which will take place at Massachusetts Institute of Technology on November 2 – 4, 2017 on MIT’s campus in Cambridge, MA.

McGee was chosen for his work in innovative research and teaching which focuses on developing new connections between design, engineering, materials, and processes as they relate to the built environment through the creation of customized software and fabrication tools.

His work revolves around the interrogation of the means and methods of material production in the digital era, through research focused on developing new connections between design, engineering, materials, and manufacturing processes as they relate to the built environment. With the goal of seamlessly integrating critical feedback between fabrication constraints and design intent, the work spans multiple realms, including algorithmic design, computational modeling of material behaviors, industrial control technologies, and the development of novel production processes which utilize industrial robots as bespoken machines of architectural production. As a founding partner and senior designer in the studio Matter Design, his work spans a broad range of scales and materials, always dedicated to re-imagining the role of the designer in the digital era. In 2013 Matter Design was awarded the Architectural League Prize for Young Architects & Designers. McGee has presented his work at the top national and international conferences on design and fabrication. In 2014 he was also the co-chair of the Robots in Architecture Conference (ROB|ARCH), and most recently a co-chair of the 2016 ACADIA conference.

For more information about the 2017 award winners:

References from News:

The Architect’s Newspaper



Faculty: Wesley McGee ,